2013: End of August, Beginning of September

This is the last little bits of “summer” that I did as August rolls into September. People are going back to school, pumpkins and halloween decorations have found themselves back in stores. The weather all of a sudden changed from hot and humid to cool and wet.

And here I am, doing the same things day in, day out. Going to work, coming home from work and going straight to bed, but instead of shorts, I now migrate from scrubs to sweat pants.

Pulpit rock Pulpit rock

But here are the events in this post: AUGUST 25th: Play and milkshakes with Steph and Liz, AUGUST 26th: Burgers with Heather, and AUGUST 30th through SEPTEMBER 1st, Camp Cedarbrook with my mom. 

Steph and I have been seeing plays at the Shakespeare theater for many years now. We are on our way to seeing all the shows this season. We’ve been dragging friends with us as well, when they can come. So Liz came this time, and we went to a dinner for fries and shakes afterwards.

Pulpit rock Pulpit rock

Pulpit rock Pulpit rock

The next day Heather and I headed to Princton, to our favorite little mall where Ten Thousand Villages is located. Afterwards we went to chase down a scrub store that did not exist. We ended up shopping at Ross, some other stores, and ended the day with burgers and shakes at CheeburgerCheeburger. So delicious.



Our burgers faces are fantastic.

Pulpit rock Pulpit rock
Pulpit rock Pulpit rock

That weekend I went to camp with my mom! It was the a work weekend to help close up camp for the winter. The tents were taken down, the windows and shutters were being closed. Places were cleaned, and things put away in mouse proof places to be ready for next summer. We worked hard, but it was also very relaxing and a quiet weekend spent with my mom and my friends.

We drove up after a full work day on Friday, and drove home in the afternoon on Sunday. Being full time at work is so hard.

Pulpit rock Pulpit rock

The lake in the morning is so gorgeous!

I tried to duplicate the photo I took the last time I was at camp in July!

My mum and I took a walk to the water fall, stopping to see the creatures along the way, and all the mushrooms, so many mushrooms!

Pulpit rock Pulpit rock

The forest was so green from the summer and all the rain we have had.


All the tents had come down, so all that was left were the platforms and railings. They looked so sad.

Pulpit rock Pulpit rock

Liz and I spent an afternoon cleaning out the AO. We found a box of baby mice, and freaked out. Our director was across the parking lot just laughing at us, the experienced staff members screaming and laughing over a box of mice. It was so funny.

Pulpit rock Pulpit rock

I wrote a postcard for Lara on these cute cards I got from one of my favorite flikr photographers Rona Keller.

Pulpit rock Pulpit rock

Sunday afternoon, my mom and I just sat and talked by the lake. Camp was so quiet and it was so enjoyable to just sit and enjoy the forest.


We were able to spend an hour on the lake as well, canoeing. We used to do this all the time when we would spend the weekends up at camp together when I was little. It is one of my favorite memories from my childhood, weekends with my mom at camp.

Pulpit rock Pulpit rock

It was so green and gorgeous.

Pulpit rock Pulpit rock

Spending the last few days of August at camp, with my mom was the best. I spent the end of May, beginning of June at camp, the middle of July at camp, and now the end of summer there as well. Even though I didn’t get a whole week at camp, at least I got 3 weekends full of fun, friends, and the forest to give me the memories I always feel like I miss out on when I’m not there for the entire summer. I felt like it was better than missing out on the camp environment all together.

I had a great summer. It was full of drama from work, fun memories, and lazy afternoons spent doing the things I love, and the hobbies I enjoy so much.
This summer I learned a lot about myself, started new things like this blog, wearing dresses as often as possible, taking more photos, learning to skateboard, and filling my life with friends and memories for years to come.
I’m ready for more adventures as the leaves start to fall, as the days becoming cooler and shorter, as I grow into my new job. There are no regrets!

Leave a Reply

