What is nursing to me?

My idea and my place in my profession has changed so much in just the past couple months. Nursing for me has changed multiple times since I set foot in educating myself in nursing 5 years ago, to receiving my first job 6 weeks ago.

I’ve come to many conclusions throughout the years, and I’ve come to yet another one. Since my idea of nursing changes, and what I’m doing being a nurse changes, I keep forgetting what I’m doing it for.

As I deal with the people I work with, the doctors who are temperamental; or when I mess up a bit,  when I get frustrated and annoyed that I’m not getting everything 100% yet, it’s not for me.

It’s not about me.

Yes I have to do things right, yes if I mess up I have to fix it, own up to my mistake, but it’s not for me, it’s for the patients. If they are happy, if they get what they need, if they get the best care that they can get, that’s all that matters, and my work is done.

I have to start living that and do what I can with the hours that I have.

Leave a Reply

